Break-up song…

Musically, Take Care is the perfect ending to Beach House’s Teen Dream.

Momentum and expectation was built from the beginning of the album but at the end; this dark and deep song is the sad and melancholic realization that everything is over. The beauty of teen love disappears. The dream stops being a dream just to become a reality that nobody wanted to admit. The melody is soft and heartrending. That same keyboard, same voice and guitar that exploded in tuneful speeches of love is now gloomy. I can perfectly picture it as the background soundtrack of a breaking up scene or even as my own personalized romance-is-over song.

The lyrics, which in my opinion also have certain sexual connotation, seem to point us to the end of this lovely but fake trip:

“It’s no good unless it grows, feel this burning, love of mine
Deep inside the ever-spinning, tell me does it feel

It’s no good unless it’s real, hill sides burning
Wild-eyed turning ‘til we’re running from it”

The emotions and the gravitational pull towards each other it’s not real. It was good but it wasn’t real. (An argument can be made on how these lyrics convey a final act of sex and not love.)

However, the most powerful lines without a doubt are: “I’ll take care of you.” These words went straight to my heart. That’s why it’s inevitable not to repeat the chorus in the same infinite manner that the song ends.

To me, Legrand is not only saying goodbye to her lover; it seems almost as she is also saying to us [the listeners.] And at the end, she also will take care of us. (By making another album like this one maybe, maybe she will!)

I’ll give this song 5 out of 5 for its murky yet hopeful melody; for it’s powerful lyrics and for being the perfect ending to the album.

PS: By the way, this was also my favorite video from this album.  It was extremely simple but somehow, the image of the old lady singing this song was completely opposite to what I expected that I simply loved it for that.

2 comments on “Break-up song…

  1. Hey Helen,

    I have to say, I really cannot stand the song “Take Care” and could find reason to disagree that it is a song about maybe saying goodbye to a fated romance.

    HOWEVER, you do a fantastic job at convincing me otherwise. The point of this blog is to state an opinion, and perhaps even change one, and you’ve effectively done so. I can say I do love this passage you wrote

    “To me, Legrand is not only saying goodbye to her lover; it seems almost as she is also saying to us [the listeners.] And at the end, she also will take care of us. (By making another album like this one maybe, maybe she will!)”-You helped to personalize her attempts at connections even more.

    So beautifully done, I am actually looking forward to hearing you speak about Radiohead :]

    -Christin

  2. Oh, one more quick thing, you keep posting links to youtube videos, remember that the links to song lyric websites, and any research are JUST as important!

Leave a Reply

