Violator… Second Impression

Breaking News: I’m officially hooked to Violator.  

During the last couple of weeks I’ve been listening to the album A LOT. At first, I was a little skeptical mostly because some songs did not have a “wow factor.” But the more I listen, the more I understand the concept of Depeche Mode’s Violator. When done properly, the synthesizers’ sounds can be unbelievably catchy, almost danceable and body gripping. This powerful effect works perfectly because it brings out a very sexually charged feeling to the whole album, along with the enchanting whispered sensuality of the vocals by Dave Gahan (Martin Gore is the vocal lead of some songs, but he lacks the same effect than Gahan.)

Something I really enjoyed, and that I didn’t notice at first, was the musical interludes between some songs, mostly because Linkin Park (who is heavily influenced by Depeche Mode) uses them all the time. I find this to be a very original way to engage the listener in the natural flow of the album. Personally, it functioned greatly. I also started to pay attention to songs I didn’t like at first, such as “Sweetest Perfection” which has slowly won my appreciation. Others however, keep being avoidable such as “Clean.”

During this week, I did some research on the history of the English band, (which is amazing.) The fact that Depeche Mode has been constantly evolving without losing their essence is very respectable. (You can’t say that of many bands, nowadays.) I really enjoy the fact that Violator’s distinguishable electronic instrumentation (owed to Martin Gore’s mostly) does not overlays the basic use of guitars, bass and drums. I don’t know if Depeche Mode was the first to create this genre mixture but I think that this combination produced a very powerful hybrid of electro-rock-pop which influenced plenty modern bands and artists who I listen to such as Franz Ferdinand, The Killers, Linkin Park, Rammstein. After listening to these bands again, I can definitely Depeche Mode’s influence.

I’ll keep listening earnestly to the album and deconstruct its songs as much as I can. Maybe it will keep surprising me. This time, I’ll rate it a little higher just because I fell in love with “Sweetest Perfection” which I rejected before.  I give Violator… 3 ½ out of 5.

 

Leave a Reply

