World in my eyes… Depeche Mode

Credit to… wedopix.deviantart.com

Depeche Mode’s “World in my Eyes” instantly caught my attention with its upbeat and sensual synthesizers’ sounds. This is a track that invites your body to move; to feel the music. The lyrics are tempting as well, and combined with the melody, it creates a really awesome effect which evokes a really sexual feeling.

This is another track in Violator that feels modern. The electronic sound with its mystifying appeal is dynamic; it never stays the same. It creates a really absorbing impulsive and wild mood. Synchronized to the lyrics, “World in my Eyes” is absolutely provocative. Some lines are repeated over and over in a very clear effort to convince (the listener) to surrender his/her body to its instincts.

You can see this here:

Now let your mind do the walking
And let my body do the talking
Let me show you the world in my eyes

I’ll take you to the highest mountain
To the depths of the deepest sea
And we won’t need a map
Believe me

The voice of Dave Gahan is full of sensuality which adds even a more distinctive sound to “World in my Eyes.” He evokes a really powerful feeling of taboo and thrill which I love! I’ll definitely let him show me, the world in his eyes. (Just, don’t tell my boyfriend.) Martin Gore said that the song “It’s saying that love and sex and pleasure are positive things.”  (This means I wasn’t too far from the basic meaning of the song!)

The official music video for “World in my Eyes” did not impress me much. A mix of concert footage images with the image of Gahan seducing girl in a drive-in cinema; pretty basic, I think.

I’ll rate this song a 4.5 out of 5 for its great instrumentation and electrifying lyricism.

Lyrics found in http://www.depechemode.com

Credit also to the book Stripped: Depeche Mode by Jonathan Miller.

Leave a Reply

